The Kempe Fostering Healthy Futures Program

Fostering Healthy Futures (FHF) is a positive youth development program for preadolescent youth, ages 9 to 11, with a history of placement in out-of-home care.  The program uses a combination of screening assessments, individual mentoring, and group-based skills training to promote healthy development and reduce risk factors for adverse outcomes.

The Fostering Healthy Futures program has:
•    Demonstrated positive impacts for youth in multiple domains
•    Been named an evidence-based program
•    Provided over 35,000 hours of face-to-face prevention programming for over 250 youth
•    Provided over 80,000 hours of training to graduate students
•    Served as the field placement site for 130 graduate interns in social work and psychology
•    Trained over 100 graduate student research assistants, medical students, and postdoctoral fellows
•    Produced over 30 peer-reviewed publications

The FHF program is currently in Phase II, which includes program dissemination and implementation activities, as well as expanding the mentoring program for teens.

Please contact the Program Director, Heather Taussig, for more information about Phase II activities or click here for additional information on the Fostering Healthy Futures program.

The Fostering Healthy Futures Team:

Heather Taussig, Ph.D., Program Director
heather.taussig@childrenscolorado.org
303-864-5216

Melody Combs, Ph.D., Project and Research Manager
melody.combs@childrenscolorado.org
303-864-5379

Orah Fireman, M.Ed., LCSW, Clinical Team Leader 
orah.fireman@childrenscolorado.org
303-864-5210

Edward Garrido, Ph.D., Researcher
edward.garrido@childrenscolorado.org
303-864-5214

John Holmberg, Psy.D., Dissemination Coordinator
john.holmberg@childrenscolorado.org
303-864-5115

Robyn Wertheimer, LCSW, Training Coordinator, Clinical Team Leader
robyn.wertheimer@childrenscolorado.org
303-864-5240

The Gary Pavilion at Children's Hospital Colorado | Anschutz Medical Campus | 13123 E. 16th Ave., B390 | Aurora, CO 80045

 

The Kempe Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse and Neglect - Copyright (c) 2008

This website is powered by The Kempe Foundation, whose mission is to increase awareness, engage in advocacy and secure resources for the Kempe Center | Legal / Privacy Policy